Model Misfit, Geek Girl Series Book #2 (Smale, Holly)



“Harriet Manners knows a lot of facts. Humans have 70,000 thoughts per day. Caterpillars have four thousand muscles. The average person eats a ton of food a year. Being a Geek + Model = a whole new set of graffiti on your belongings. But clearly she knows nothing about boys. And on a whirlwind modelling trip to Tokyo, Harriet would trade in everything she’s ever learnt for just the faintest idea of what she’s supposed to do next…”


This book was even better than the first book in the Geek Girl series! We see Harriet experience more intense emotions that she has ever had. With a new baby brother or sister on the way, she becomes paranoid that her parents are trying to get rid of her, and they won’t stop going on about the baby. At the end of the book, she realises that everyone she thought was against her, with the exception of Poppy, is actually trying to help her and love her. I thought this was a brilliant ending to the second book in the series as it finished on a high note, leaving the reader to wonder about how Harriet is going to cope in new situations in the third book.

Harriet doesn’t understand boys, and it seems, neither does her best friend Nat. They find out together that boys are confusing; Harriet feels like Nick dumps her when actually he is just giving her space to do her GCSEs. Listening to Nat’s advice, she pretends that she is over him, hurting Nick in the process. Then Harriet kicks herself at the end as she realises that she was misinterpreting his messages, coming to the conclusion that he is now dating Poppy, when he isn’t (though Poppy wants him to be her boyfriend).

This book is amazing because Harriet finds out the true meaning of friendship and learns not to jump to conclusions about people without finding out the whole story first. The reader can see Harriet mature a lot during this book as she begins to show a more insecure side to her personality but instead of making a list of everyone who hates her, she allows Nick to explain at the end of the book, everything that has been going on.

The first book in the series can be found here.

The third book in the series can be found here.

Buy on Amazon: Model Misfit (Geek Girl, Book 2)

Goodreads: My Profile

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *