Messenger of Fear, Messenger of Fear Series, Book 1


 Messenger of Fear


He is the messenger. He offers you a game. Play or Pay. “Who are you?” That was the first question I asked the boy in front of me. The pale, solemn young man in the black coat with small silver skulls for buttons. But he didn’t answer it. Instead he answered the question I never asked, but which was nevertheless what I really wanted to know. Am I dead? No. Not dead, he told me. But surely not quite alive, either. How could I be? I remembered my name – Mara. But, standing in that ghostly place, still shuddering at the memory of the creeping yellow mist that had awoken me in that strange silent land, I could recall nothing else about myself. And then the games began.

Overview *Contains Spoilers*

When Mara wakes up in a land that seems to be full of a yellow mist, she doesn’t know where she is, who she is, even what her name is. Her memories appear to have vanished and she knows nothing of who she was before she awoke in the mist. Then she meets the ‘Messenger of Fear’ who slowly begins to tell her who she is and why she is there.

This book was absolutely amazing! I was hooked from the first page and couldn’t stop reading until I finished it a day after starting it! I loved Michael Grant’s ‘Gone’ series, so I had high hopes for this book. I have to say, this book outshone the entire of the ‘Gone’ series. It was full of messages about anti-bullying and making the right decisions in life and the punishments that are given out by the Messenger of Fear are a metaphor for the consequences that can happen as a result of the bad choices that you make.

It was an incredibly thought provoking book with well-developed characters and a rounded plot. This could have worked as a singular novel, but I’m pleased to discover that there are more to the Messenger of Fear series, as I loved it that much!

Buy this book on Amazon: Messenger of Fear

Goodreads: My Profile

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *