Tag Archive | geek girl series

Picture Perfect, Geek Girl Series Book #3 (Smale, Holly)


Picture Perfect



Harriet Manners knows a lot of facts. New York is the most populous city in the United States. Its official motto is ‘Ever Upward’. 27% of Americans believe we never landed on the moon. But she has no idea about modelling Stateside. Or, even more importantly, what to do when the big romantic gestures aren’t coming from her boyfriend…

Overview *Contains Spoilers*

I absolutely loved this book! It was perfect in every way! The characters were well developed. The dilemmas and situations that she faces were realistically portrayed right from page one. In this book, we see once again, that Harriet Manners has absolutely no clue about boys which makes her geekiness stand out even more. She blindly follows the advice from another girl who believes that she knows everything about boys, but Nick (aka Lion Boy) is not your average boy. He is a model and can’t always be available for Harriet at every moment of every day. Harriet is so caught up in her own little world, despondent because of the lack of modelling and upset at being whisked away to New York at a moment’s notice, only to find out that she is not actually staying in the city, that she mistakenly believes everyone is out to get her and that nobody likes her, least of all her parents and her boyfriend.

This book is a rollercoaster of emotions as the reader is brought along on Harriet’s journey to resume her modelling career, put up with a ‘fake’ A level tutor who calls Harriet stupid, and a boyfriend who she believes is neglecting her. Along with all that, her parents forget that it is her birthday and her boyfriend mixes up the train stations so doesn’t get to see Harriet on the special date. Everything seems to go wrong for Harriet that could possibly go wrong, but everything comes together for her at the end of the book.

I loved every moment of this book from start to finish and I was so sad when I had finished it. I would definitely recommend this book to all ages because it was fantastic!

The second book in the series can be found here.

Buy this book on Amazon:Picture Perfect (Geek Girl, Book 3)

Goodreads: My Profile

Model Misfit, Geek Girl Series Book #2 (Smale, Holly)



“Harriet Manners knows a lot of facts. Humans have 70,000 thoughts per day. Caterpillars have four thousand muscles. The average person eats a ton of food a year. Being a Geek + Model = a whole new set of graffiti on your belongings. But clearly she knows nothing about boys. And on a whirlwind modelling trip to Tokyo, Harriet would trade in everything she’s ever learnt for just the faintest idea of what she’s supposed to do next…”


This book was even better than the first book in the Geek Girl series! We see Harriet experience more intense emotions that she has ever had. With a new baby brother or sister on the way, she becomes paranoid that her parents are trying to get rid of her, and they won’t stop going on about the baby. At the end of the book, she realises that everyone she thought was against her, with the exception of Poppy, is actually trying to help her and love her. I thought this was a brilliant ending to the second book in the series as it finished on a high note, leaving the reader to wonder about how Harriet is going to cope in new situations in the third book.

Harriet doesn’t understand boys, and it seems, neither does her best friend Nat. They find out together that boys are confusing; Harriet feels like Nick dumps her when actually he is just giving her space to do her GCSEs. Listening to Nat’s advice, she pretends that she is over him, hurting Nick in the process. Then Harriet kicks herself at the end as she realises that she was misinterpreting his messages, coming to the conclusion that he is now dating Poppy, when he isn’t (though Poppy wants him to be her boyfriend).

This book is amazing because Harriet finds out the true meaning of friendship and learns not to jump to conclusions about people without finding out the whole story first. The reader can see Harriet mature a lot during this book as she begins to show a more insecure side to her personality but instead of making a list of everyone who hates her, she allows Nick to explain at the end of the book, everything that has been going on.

The first book in the series can be found here.

The third book in the series can be found here.

Buy on Amazon: Model Misfit (Geek Girl, Book 2)

Goodreads: My Profile